Slot Online

Purchase Cost Formula


Traditional supply chain management is a rigid system focused on product production. Your team sources materials, provides them to a manufacturer to make the product, then sends them to a retailer or other sales channel to be delivered to the customer.

What are the 4 types of logistics?

The four major types of logistics are: Supply, distribution, sales and reverse logistics.

What are the 3 types of logistics?

Types of Logistics
Logistics Fields.
Procurement Logistics: Procuring Raw Materials and Parts.
Production Logistics: Materials Management, Distribution in Factories, Product Management, Shipping.
Sales Logistics: Delivery from Warehouse to Wholesalers, Retailers, and Consumers.

What is the difference between traditional logistics and e logistics?

The concept of traditional logistics was mainly based on two factors: efficiency and effective pricing of the supply chain process. On the other hand, e-logistics is about meeting customers expectations and delivering at speed.

What is the focus of traditional logistics?

Traditional supply chain focuses only on production and provision, whereas Modern (digital) supply chain focuses on the needs of the customers in general, also aims to improve the value of the product delivered to the customer, rather than just focusing on the aspect of distribution.

What are the 8 types of logistics?

8 Types of Logistics Waste Within a Supply Chain
Over-Production: Producing More Than is Needed. .
Waiting: Time Wasted for the Process Step to be Completed. .
Transportation: Unnecessary Movement of Material, Product, or Goods. .
Over-Processing: Doing More Than is Required. .
Motion:Unnecessary Movements of People.

What are the 5 Ps of logistics?


What are the two categories of logistics?

To summarize, Inbound Logistics refers to the movement of goods between businesses and their suppliers. In contrast, Outbound Logistics pertains to the flow of goods between companies and the end-user or consumer.

What are the 7 Rs of logistics?

In this step, we look at the 7 Rs of logistics. So, what are the 7 Rs? The Chartered Institute of Logistics & Transport UK (2019) defines them as: Getting the Right product, in the Right quantity, in the Right condition, at the Right place, at the Right time, to the Right customer, at the Right price.

What are basic logistics?

Transportation and warehousing are the two major functions of logistics. Transportation management focuses on planning, optimizing and executing the use of vehicles to move goods between warehouses, retail locations and customers. The transportation is multimodal and can include ocean, air, rail and roads.


Traditional manufacturing operations are push-type systems. They are based on the assumption that it is better to anticipate future production requirements and plan for them. Traditional systems produce goods in advance in order to have products in place when demand occurs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *